The Project

Project and Research Management Journal Entry One

SET265 Project Management and Advanced Research

Research Project Journal Entry One

Date: 16/02/2017

Student’s name: Will Humphrey

Title of project: Smaug: A digital archive of illustrations from different editions of J.R.R. Tolkien’s novel.

Period covered by this form: Contemporary Literature

Aims and Objectives for the project:

  • Create a digital archive of various illustrations of Smaug from The Hobbit from different editions of J.R.R.Tolkien’s novel.
  • Create a project which combines visual presentation, literary texts and the digital humanities. To showcase my analysis of a literary text such as a novel in a different format from the academic essay.
  • I want to create project which will be able to be sustained and used after my project has finished.

Specific tasks and goals for the period covered:

  • Identify the different approaches each illustrator has taken when creating each illustration of Smaug.
  • Make it open for the public to able to contribute additional information or tags.
  • Identify the differences and similarities between Tolkien’s textual description and the image the illustrator has produced.

Were targets met? If not, please provide details:

  • Unfortunately due to majority of the illustrations being copyright protected I could not continue with my desired project.
  • I am able to meet aims 2-4 with my new project idea which is a visual mapping of a contemporary novel.

Next steps:

  • I met with my supervisor Julia Thomas and we discussed the issue of copyright with my project. I told Julia the three key aims I wanted to get out of creating my project.
  • We discussed my research interests and aims for my project which lead me to a new proposal for my project. My new project is going to be a visual mapping a contemporary novel.
  • Research what off-the-shelf software is available and accessible in order to create my project.

 

Leave a Reply

